Vancouver Island Woodworkers Guild AGM June 10, 2025

Call to order: President, Blair Matheson at 7:05 pm. Quorum confirmed.

Presentation of agenda: Approved.

Minutes from June 11, 2024 AGM: Moved to accept: Andrew Ryskamp, seconded by Bruce Thomson. Motion approved.

Reports:

- President: Blair Matheson
 - Highlight the Guild's giving back to community. Support for Camosun Fine Furniture program with awards, bursaries and in-kind donations of wood. Rick Lloyd and guild volunteers produced 331 toy cars for Santa's Anonymous. The Guild constructed 26 bat boxes for the Habitat Acquisition Trust and the BC Wildlife Fund.
 - A thank you to all the members who support the Guild and a thank you to all the volunteers in various activities through the year and to fellow executive members who help run our organization.
 - A recognition that it can be difficult to recruit members to leadership roles in the Guild so please get involved.
- VP Program: Glenn Bartley and Wayne Halabourda
 - Worked to make the program portfolio diverse, educational, informative and entertaining with the topics chosen.
 - Open to members providing ideas on what they would like to see and/or providing a introduction of possible presenters to Blaine for the upcoming year.
- VP Membership: James Casey
 - Currently 183 members, up 10 over last year, with 15 people with outstanding fees.
 - September 2025 will be the start of the new membership renewal process where all members renew on the same date. A reach out for help this September as membership will likely be busy as we sort out and streamline the process.
 - Look for a recruitment push over the coming year.

- Treasurer: Fred Harvey, presented by Blair Matheson
 - o Financial report attached.
 - Generally, a solid balance sheet with last year having record volume of wood sales whereas 2025 sales volume are back to average volume of prior years.
 - Membership fees are down but this reflects timing and prorated payments with the move to renewals all being completed in September starting this year.
 - Ticket sales for prizes are up but so are expenses for prizes reflecting a decline in returns.
 - We now provide the VPs of program a discretionary budget for stipends and travel expenses for presenters at our monthly meetings.
- Secretary: Ian Brown
 - No report
- Shop Tours/Events: Russ Campbell
 - Highlighted the tours this year including the most recent trip to Pender Island.
 - Working on Mike Randall at Camosun College on June 21, please see Rusty if you would like to attend.
 - o Please share your ideas and suggestions with Mike for next year.
- Wood Recovery: Dany Coulombe & Neil Bosdet
 - o Thank you for all of the volunteers who made things work this year.
 - Expect a wood sale in July.
 - Wood shop is full with lots of arbutus and Gary oak.
- Prizes: Randy Dahlquist
 - Please share ideas for things you would like to see on the prize table.
- Library Bruce Thomson
 - Highlight our current hard copy library.
 - The future though is digital with 4 woodworking journals available to members via the website.
 - o There are also a video links to presenters and other woodworking topics.

- Webmaster Alia Kube
 - o Alia introduced herself to the membership.
 - Currently on a learning curve as she comes up to speed.
 - Looking to build out links pages.

Approve Updated By-Laws

Draft Constitution and By-Laws distributed to members for feedback on 3 occasions, the latest was on May 26, 2025.

There was one amendment to be made to reflect how the Guild currently functions. Remove the position of Show Chair and have this be an appointed position prior to the Cedar Hills show. Replace this with a VP of Workshop tours.

Motion to approve the amended bylaws as presented. Motion: Frank Letchford, seconded by Gord Macdougall. Motion carried unanimously.

Election of Executive

The nominating committee, led by Neil Bosdet puts forward the following:

• President: Russ Campbell

• VP Membership: James Casey

• VP Programs: Blaine Wright

Secretary: Ian Brown

Treasurer: Fred Harvey

• Director at Large: Blair Matheson

The election process was opened to nominations from the floor, and none were forthcoming. New executive was elected unanimously.

Appointed Executive Positions

Members who have agreed to hold non-voting positions with the Executive are:

Tours and Workshop: Geoff Burton
Librarian: Bruce Thomson
Prizes: Randy Dahlquist

• Wood Recovery: Dany Coloumbe & Neil Bosdet

• Webmaster Alia Kube

Retiring Executive Members

The Guild would like to thank and acknowledge the contribution of three members who are retiring from the Executive: Rick Lloyd, Glenn Bartley and Wayne Halabourda.

Other Business

- Member recognition:
 - Scott Reid and Neil Bosdet

Motion to close Annual General Meeting

Bruce Thomson, seconded by Rick Lloyd